h1

Barefoot Bloggers – Mini Meat Loaves

March 10, 2010

Yum, meatloaf!  I grew up with my mom’s meatloaf, which I have tweaked different times in my own home.  My son and husband even tell a funny story about a meatloaf where I didn’t chop the sundried tomatoes into bite-sized pieces, resulting in huge chunks of tough tomatoes in the loaf.  My son won’t go near sun-dried tomatoes to this day, and doesn’t let me forget about that experiment gone awry.

Ina’s recipe is simple, yet very tasty.  I did change the bread crumbs to oatmeal.  One, that’s the way my mom did it, but also being a diabetic, I’m teaching myself to find alternatives to breadcrumbs.  Everything else I kept the same.

I really liked the idea of the mini loaves.  There’s only two of us in our home nowadays, and this is a perfect way to bake once/cook thrice.  I rounded out our meal with some mashed potatoes (not on my low glycemic diet) and some sauteed spinach.   Thanks to Tonya of What’s on my Plate? for the great choice.

Leave a Reply

