h1

TWD – Thumbprints for Us Big Guys

March 8, 2010

This is a cookie that reminds me of Christmas.  I have a tendency to think of thumbprint cookies as more time-intensive, therefore worthy of the special time that the holidays bring. My baking challenges are helping me to readjust that mindset.  Not only were they easy to put together, why wait for the holidays for special treats, then try to cram them into a short period of a month or so?  No wonder people complain about gaining weight over the holidays.  I say spread that *holiday cheer* through the year.

I love marionberries!  Period, end of story.  So when this month’s challenge came up, I immediately knew that marionberry jam would be involved.  The recipe called for hazelnuts, also a favorite, but I decided just to use what was in the house this time around, which was walnuts.  I also contemplated pecans.  I bet they would be equally tasty.

I used my food processor to finely chop the walnuts, and then mixed the cookie dough.  It seemed crumbly when I started scooping out the cookies, and they do crumble a bit when you bite into them, so maybe I overmixed the dough a bit.  However, the taste was really great.

I’m inconsistent in my baking techniques.  So I used a scoop instead of eyeballing the size of each cookie.  I love these scoops.  I have three of them in different sizes.  Also in an effort to be consistent, I did re-press the cookies slightly when they came out of the oven.  I’m not sure I really needed to, but again, I love marionberries and wanted to make sure there was plenty of room for the jam.

These were delicious cookies, definitely a recipe I will add to my list of keepers.  I think next time I might freeze half of the dough balls, so that we don’t have a lot of them laying around the house.  Just take out a few, thaw them out, pop them in the oven, drizzle them with jam or chocolate, and, voila, Christmas any time of the year.

5 comments

  1. Your cookies look perfect. Growing up my mom always made thumbprints for the holidays, so I have the same association with these cookies as you do. But, I agree, there’s no reason not to enjoy these cookies at any time of the year.
    I’ve never had marionberry jam before but I’ve always been curious about it. You’ve given me the push to purchase a jar the next time I see one.


  2. they look great! i’m a pacific northwester too. Canaadian actually 🙂


  3. I’ve never had marionberry jam and now I’m intrigued to find some! What does it taste like? Can you compare it to another fruit? I’m adding to my TJ’s list right now. 🙂
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com


    • I’ve been told they are a cross between blackberries and raspberries. Their color is a deeper red than raspberries. I think they are much sweeter. Yum!


  4. I’ve never had marionberry jam, but I’ve heard of it. Is it like raspberry? I’ve never seen it here, but I’ll have to look for it next time I’m out west. Your cookies look delicious! I made a half batch with lemon curd.



Leave a Reply

