h1

TWD – Toasted-Coconut Custard Tart (Part 1)

March 2, 2010

ARGH!  I had all the ingredients gathered and ready to make my Tuesdays with Dorie challenge… or so I thought.

I went digging for my tart pan, and it’s nowhere to be found.  I think maybe it broke when I used it around the holidays, but didn’t remember that until I began looking for it.  The plan was to make the dough only, put it in the freezer, and then make the custard when I have time tomorrow morning.

So I went ahead and prepped a pie plate instead.  I froze the butter as suggested, and used my food processor to combine the ingredients.  What a beautiful dough to work with.  The recipe said it would be crumbly, and it wasn’t so much.  I hope I didn’t overdo it.  But, wow, I’m going to have to bookmark this one.  I found my perfect pie dough recipe last fall, and now this!  I’m in dough heaven!

So stand by for Part 2 tomorrow, and I’ve put tart pan on my shopping list for the weekend.

Leave a Reply

