h1

Barefoot Bloggers Challenge – Stuffed Mushrooms

December 25, 2009

Christmas Eve needed an appetizer, so I thought I’d try Ina Garten’s recipe for Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms.  One of the things I am discovering and love about the recipes from the Barefoot Contessa is that they are very easy.  This one was no different.

The stuffing was different than what I’m used to.  It packed pretty tightly, making for a compact but full mushroom.  It also meant that the mushrooms cooked for almost an hour, making the mushroom nice and soft.

For me the flavors that came through most were sherry and parmesan cheese.  I did end up drizzling melted butter on top of them.  They seemed dried out when they came out of the oven.

They went well with the crab legs, lobster and steamer clams.  We had a green salad and fresh rolls to round out the dinner.  My favorite Mirassou Riesling to drink, and my guys’ favorite cherry cheesecake for dessert.  A beautiful Christmas Eve dinner, if I do say so myself.

One comment

  1. That sounds like an amazing meal.



Leave a Reply

