h1

Dark Stout Gingerbread

December 6, 2009

I’ve never been fond of gingerbread cookies, but I do love gingerbread.  So when I found a recipe for Dark Stout Gingerbread, I thought I’d give it a go.  I am not a fan of dark beer, and should have realized how it would dominate the flavors, but my husband the stout lover, did enjoy the recipe.

In Oregon we have many microbreweries, and one of my husband’s favorites is Rogue Brewery, so I started with their Chocolate Stout.  You can really smell and taste the chocolate flavor, and thought it would add a nice flavor to the recipe.

My guys bought me an automatic sifter one year for Christmas, knowing that I love kitchen gadets.  I don’t get to use it often enough.  Baking gives me that chance.

I am getting better at premeasuring all my ingredients so that I don’t mess up proportions, not to mention that it just makes the mixing more efficient.   Everything came together well, and though the recipe said to bake it for 50-60 minutes, it was done in about 45 minutes.

It had a very strong beer taste, so much so that I didn’t care for it.  However, it was very moist, and my husband Dan, a beer lover, did say that it tasted good.

I’m still in search for some gingerbread.

Leave a Reply

