h1

Spring Day

April 12, 2010

We had a perfect day yesterday.  The yard received some much-needed TLC.  I worked on the flower beds, raking up the winter debris and pruning the bushes, while Dan worked cleaning the driveway and the vehicles.  By the way, have I mentioned I love my iPod?  It makes all kinds of chores go that much faster.  I’m always astounded at how much debris this yard can generate.  I didn’t get the veggie starts planted as I had hoped, but my workweek may give me some more time in the garden.  It’s always a work in progress, I suppose.

Next?  A stir-fry recipe from Jamie Oliver’s new cookbook, “Food Revolution.”  I have attempted stir-fry before, but usually I seem to over-cook the vegetables or something.  It never seems to be crisp and fresh.  Tonight was better.  You couple veggies and chicken with brown rice, and that gives you some wiggle room for a luxury:  Strawberry Rhubarb Pie.

I haven’t grown rhubarb in my garden yet, and am not sure I am going to.  However, when I saw it the other day in the store, next to fresh strawberries, I had to pull out my handy-dandy recipe for pie dough and get to work.  I just recently started making homemade pie.  I never thought I could make a decent pie crust.   Don’t get me wrong, I made pies with ready-made pie dough, but growing up, I always seemed to make the pie fillings and my sister did the crust.  So I was in unfamiliar territory.  In my quest to become a better baker, I found a Cook’s Illustrated recipe that my family is fond of, and now I usually have frozen pie crust waiting to be the foundation for some delicious tidbit.

This is my first attempt at strawberry rhubarb filling, however.  And though it was flavorful and the familiar taste that I love, it was runny.  Oh, well, just that much more filling to pour over the French Vanilla ice cream that I brought home from Baskins & Robbins.  We miss Swenson’s ice cream from California, but Baskin & Robbins is a good replacement.

As I sat eating my dessert, I could smell the rain beginning again and thought to myself, this day was perfect.  Not a vacation day at the beach, but perfect in its own way.

One comment

  1. Mmmm. I love strawberry rhubarb pie. I’m not much of a gardener, but the previous owners of our house planted a rhubarb patch. It comes back year after year without any work from me! It’s one of my favorite things about spring. :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

